It's not just a house.  It's your home.  Let's Get It Right!!!

Whoooeeeeee!  It's been a long time.  38 years as a broker, and I've loved it... well most of it.  There have been a few yahoos along the way, but mostly great people, many who have become my good friends whom I have sold homes to multiple times.  I'm happy to help you find homes in my beautiful town of Fair Oaks, (on the bluffs of the American River, upstream of Sacramento, with the cutest old town known for its wandering chickens.), but venture into Orangevale (an eclectic mix of horse property dotted with infill tuscan-style estates), Citrus Heights (good values), Carmichael (a mix of gorgeous estates and affordable homes), Gold River (beautiful planned development on the banks of the American River with miles of bike trails), Folsom (there's more than the prison where Johnny Cash sang - a quaint old town with Victorian homes and access to sublime boating, biking, bar-b-ques, beaching, and barrel racing at the rodeo), El Dorado Hills (gorgeous, views, with beautiful homes), Granite Bay ( famous for its schools, rural properties and estate developments, like Los Lagos), Roseville (has everything, plus a super business center), Rocklin (rural bucolic life plus gazillions of newer lovely subdivisions) and Sacramento itself (where I grew up, at the convergence of two rivers.)

I hope you tried the links above.  They will take you to the newest homes listings in each community.  Pretty slick, huh?  Check back frequently, and it will update you with any new homes for sale! (Yes, I aim to please!)

Wanna know more about some of my favorite Fair Oaks neighborhoods?    Try this overview video of Fair Oaks Neighborhoods, starring yours truly, watch this.  Here is one more video that is a bit shaky, but very cool, telling you about living in Fair Oaks.

Want more visuals? You are in luck, because I have set up Pinterest boards of my best photos and descriptions from our surrounding neighborhoods of: Fair Oaks, Rollingwood, Orangevale, CarmichaelFolsom, Sierra Oaks, Woodbridge Ranch, and Sacramento. Feeling frisky, I even made a board of homes I have sold! Pinterest is kind of fun. (You will also find cool camping ideas, landscape water features, yard art,  and deck designs, but I digress.  You are here for real estate.  I remember.)

Yesterday my client suggested I was a real estate encyclopedia, which may have been an accusation that I'm square and use way too many words, or a compliment that I really do know my stuff.  I guess sometimes its both.


CREDENTIALS
  • Real Estate Broker since 1979
  • Certified Relocation Specialist
  • Trained in Advanced Master Negotiating Techniques
  • Instructor of Negotiating for Lyon Real Estate
  • B.A. Degree, UC Santa Barbara  
 
AWARDS AND HONORS
  • Top 2% Producer, Lyon Real Estate , Dozens of millions of dollars sold! 
  • #19 out of 1000 agents for Lyon, 2013 (yes, that was exhausting)
  • #15 out of 900 agents for Lyon, 2007 (whew)
  • Nominated one of "10 Best" Real Estate Agents in CA for client satisfaction (AIREP)
  • Distinguished Realtor Designation - Expert Network (top 3% nationwide)
  • Director - Sacramento Association of Realtors - 2007, 2008 
  • Charperson of Grievance Committee, Sacramento Association of Realtors (2017), Member since 2013 ( assessing ethics complaints against Realtors)
  • Outstanding Life Member, Masters Club, Sacramento Association of Realtors  - Top 4 % of realtors 
  • Steering Committee - 8 years - Master's Club
  • Moderator, Marketing Masters - Sacramento's longest running marketing group, meeting weekly since 1991. We tour each other's listings and push cross-company collaboration. 
  • 2017 recipient of Lyon Real Estate's first ever Leadership in Philanthropy award.
Additionally, in 2006 I was chosen out of 900 agents to receive the C. Mike Messina Memorial Award for excellence and professionalism. I am really proud of this award!

PERSONAL STUFF
 

I have been married to David Dunbar for nearly 30 years, and he's still my sweetie... love that guy to death.  He's a contractor who only does things one way - the right way.  We have a ton of fun together.

We have 2 daughters, and we should have had more, but who knew they would be so entertaining and fabulous?  Roxy is a Financial Analyst and UC Davis graduate. She saves me every time I'm half-way through a spreadsheet and realize I am not a financial analyst. Thank goodness those things email well. She's a great dancer, and we both have an obsession for cowboy boots.  Christy graduated from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, is a high school teacher in New York, and is another great dancer.  She's our comedian, and has brought the joy of newfangled music to my life. Thanks to her, my favorite group is Incubus, and the song Everlong can bring me to tears!  I have lived in Fair Oaks since 1979, having returned to Sacramento from Santa Barbara, where I had lived since high school (don't ask who would leave Santa Barbara for Sacramento... it was for love, and it was the best choice I ever could have made!).  Our family loves this area, and is involved in bike riding (ask about our world-class bike trail), sailing (on Folsom Lake), hiking our fabulous trails (you feel like Lewis and Clark), fundraising for Susan G. Komen (I'm walking in my 6th 60 mile event - my second was with my 90 year old mom), snow boarding (I found a two carat diamond ring in the snow once), water polo, swim, and occasional jaunts to Sand Mountain and Florence Oregon where we go duning with our extended family (ask about our dutch oven pies).  I'm also a pretty avid reader, and am in a book group.

Speaking of the Komen 3-Day, I have formed the 2nd largest team in the US walking and fundraising for the Komen 3-Day event.  We walk 20 miles a day 3 days in a row and must each raise $2300.  Over the past two years, my team, Hands Up For Hooters, has raised over $377,000 for breast cancer research, support and education.  Yes, I have room for you on my team, and HandsUpForHooters.com. Or feel free to donate!

I'LL ALWAYS DO WHAT'S RIGHT FOR MY CLIENTS.

A few years ago, Gloria called me to list her home on the bluffs of the American River. I was excited! She then confided she was recently widowed, and needed a change. She was sad. I told her she had the best investment she could possibly find - a rare home with a smashing river view. I suggested she strip wallpaper, repaint, install new carpet, replace her windows (to improve her view!), and paint-out her dark-beamed ceilings. And to then see if she needed a change. So she did. And today, 8 years later, Gloria is still enjoying the view from her lovely new windows. And her home has tripled in value! While I talked myself out of a sale, it was the right thing for Gloria!

I do the right thing for my clients because it's the best way to lead your life. If you want to buy or sell, call me. We'll figure out the best way to proceed, then we'll make it happen. You have my word! And if that means encouraging them to do nothing. then I've done my job well.

IF YOU HAVE READ THIS FAR....

Why are you still reading? If it's to know more about me, I won't disappoint.  Here are links to my very favorite blog posts of all time, and the ones that reveal who I really am. Strap on your seat belts - you are in for a wild ride.... (don't forget to hit the back button to return)

Who is This "SALLY DUNBAR", Anyway???

 

*A Love Letter For My Husband

 

*My Best Friend. My Worst Enemy. My Brother

 

* Teach Your Children and They Will Listen

 

*How I Learned to "Leap And the Net Will Appear"

 

*How a Pile of Puckey Taught Me To Be an Optimist

 

*How I Learned to Work Hard and Play Hard

 

*How I Learned to Really LIKE My Mom

 

*The Summer of '69 and Woodstock

 

*My Favorite Vacations ... Sandrailing in the Dunes

 

*My Favorite Vacations ... Patagonia

 

*My Favorite Vacations.... Alaska

 

*My Top 17 Books of All time

 

*A Mother's Day Tribute to Aunt Margaret

 

*Hillbilly Olympics.. How to Put the FUN in Fundraising

 

*How I Learned... You Can Live With Breast Cancer

 

*My Migraines Are Gone Forever With Some Hokus Pokus

 

*On Being a Working Parent

 

* 60 Hikes by Age 60 - We're up to #23!

 

*Yep - I am inspired by my 90 year old Mom.

 

 

RealSatisfied

Sally Dunbar has been rated by 35 customers.


Click Here

to learn more.

Satisfaction
95%
Recommendation
99%
Performance
99%

I have been involved in many Real Estate Transactions and Sally Dunbar in the BEST. Combine this with all my other comments and you'll know why.


—Jane Nelsen, Sacramento
  /  October 2017

Sally Dunbar is extremely knowledgeable and has an excellent grasp of the use of statistics for demonstrating local market conditions. She is a pleasure to work with and guided us expertly through the process from start to finish. We would highly recommend Sally to anyone looking to buy or sell a home. Thank you, Sally!


—Marilyn Schiveley & Andrew Bucchiere, Folsom CA
  /  October 2017

Sally Dunbar has helped many of my family members and friends with their real estate needs so there was no other choice in my mind when I needed a realtor! She went above and beyond make sure everything went smoothly and advocated for me in all negotiations with professionalism and superior knowledge. Sally is Excellent every facet of her job and made the whole process feel smooth while also being honest and upfront about possible risks. While Sally was on vacation I was able to contact her associate and ask questions and confirm details of my transaction. I am thrilled with the sale of my old home and the purchase of my new home! Thank you Sally!


—Katrina Hiott, Fair Oaks, CA
  /  August 2017

I know we selected the right realtor when we contracted with Sally Dunbar. Sally looked over the property and then we had a conference call discussing the path forward in placing the house on the market, as we wanted to sell it “As Is”. Sally agreed to our request. She placed it on the market June 16th, and we received an offer the same day. We accepted it, as the price and the timing met our criteria. Sally was not only professional and informative, but friendly and thoughtful throughout the whole process. We are very satisfied with our dealings with Sally, and would not hesitate to work with her in the future. Bill & Herb


—Herb , San Bruno, Ca. & Bill, Hot Springs Village, Ar.
  /  July 2017

This was the third property Sally has helped us with. We just keeping coming back to Sally because she is great! Very experienced and knowledgeable. She gives good advice, and tells you what you need to know. We would definitely recommend Sally Dunbar.


—Matt & Laura in Fair Oaks
  /  July 2017

Sally was a joy to work with and took care of things when the sale got complicated. Can't recommend her highly enough!


—Marty Greenstein, Sacramento
  /  July 2017

Over 11-12 years ago my husband and I decided to move to the Fair Oaks area from Cameron Park. A friend recommended his neighbor and friend, Sally Dunbar, as a realtor that knew Fair Oaks very well. We looked her up she was a perfect match for us. She became our Realtor-for-Life! The location of your office is very convenient. My husband always did our shopping at Raley's and would see Sally Dunbar shopping after her work day. Sally would chat and keep in touch with our lives and family. We could see how invested she is in her community to see her shopping locally. After all the years I have known her, Sally Dunbar is still enthusiastic about selling homes. She is friendly, trustworthy, knowledgeable and just plain understanding. Lyons is lucky to have her as one of their most likeable and experienced agents.


—Marilee Flannery - Orangevale
  /  June 2017

Any first time home buyers out there? Give Sally Dunbar a call! When our family was planning to move from Southern California to Sacramento, we had very little knowledge of the real estate market or the home buying process. Sally Dunbar came HIGHLY recommended by a friend, and we are so glad we got to work with her! Her knowledge of the local market, patience, professionalism, and attention to detail stood out to us. Not only did she guide us through every step of the home buying process, but she was there for every home inspection, pest-inspection, sewer scope...you name it! She is truly a leader among her peers and her qualities are what all realtors strive for.


—Nathan and Jessica from Fair Oaks, CA
  /  June 2017

Sally was fantastic through out the entire home buying process. She helped me find the perfect house and get it for under market value in what is a very competitive buyers market.


—Suzanne Fagundes Citrus Heights
  /  June 2017

Sally made the home buying experience for two first time home buyers completely stress free and enjoyable. She was very patient with us throughout the entire process especially when we were asking her a lot of very naive questions. Once she realized that we really were completely unsure about how this entire process worked I could tell she felt the need to personally advocate for us and take us under her wing. She handled all of our price negotiations, repair negotiations, and the scheduling of our appraisals and inspections on our behalf. Throughout each process she explained to us beforehand what we could expect and then walked us through everything as it was happening. We never had to wonder what was coming next. I will only use Sally moving forward because she truly had our best interests at heart and treated us like we were her only clients when that clearly was not the case. She is simply the best!


—Shayna Lopez, Sacramento
  /  June 2017

Here is an email I sent to Sally after we closed escrow: "Thank you for being a walking testament on how to do realty right. I don't think we would have seriously considered this direction if you were not involved. In fact, there wasn't even a question about how to proceed... just that we needed to get you involved from the beginning. Escrows, like a few other things in life, tend to show a person's true colors, and, having been down this road together a few times, there was a trust factor on both sides that was very reassuring."


—Gary, Dillon Beach, CA
  /  May 2017

My husband and I are first time home buyers so naturally we were a bit apprehensive with the whole process. We were put in contact with Sally Dunbar through our loan officer Jody Reese of Vitek. After explaining our home needs, Sally signed us up on Lyons' "daily alert" where we received a daily email about new homes that were for sale in our price range and area. Sally is very professional, knowledgeable, and most of all, very patient! She answered all of our questions quickly; she even took our phone calls after working hours. We highly recommend Sally Reese! Thanks for all you've done for us!


—The Titchenals, Fair Oaks
  /  March 2017

Sally came highly recommended by my brother and sister-in-law. They used her previously to buy a house and we're very happy with her. Sally helped my brothers and I sell a house. She was very helpful and was very available to answer questions or give advice. She knows her stuff and if there was anything she didn't know or was unsure of, she found out for sure. I found her to be very honest. She didn't guarantee anything that couldn't be guaranteed, she didn't make any false promises or anything of that nature. Everything went very smoothly. In fact it was a very fast sale and Sally was on the ball with everything. She made our interests her interests. Her care for us came through in her actions. She wasn't just trying to sell a house. She was trying to help us sell a house with the best outcome for everyone involved, particularly us. Incredibly important to me. It was a very positive experience overall. I'm very happy with Sally as a realtor!


—Yuri Launitz, Sacramento
  /  February 2017

There were many problems with the house following years of deferred maintenance. Sally Dunbar was instrumental in finding/recommending just the exact person we needed to fix the problems. Very pro-active and she found contractors who charged a decent price and did fantastic work. Every step of the way, when there was a problem, Sally had the solution! She was fabulous.


—Gloria Gearou
  /  December 2016

Sally Dunbar made it easy and comfortable. She said it? I did it. Easy! You can't argue with expertise. House sold in 4 days.


—Debbie Kennedy - Gold River
  /  November 2016

Sally was a delight! Sally's experience was a large part about what drew us to her (besides the rave reviews from friends and family of course.) She knew many of the realtors who were selling the houses we looked at. Her knowledge of the Escrow process and the best way to look at home buying were incredibly helpful after our previously arduous experience of putting in multiple offers and coming up short. She inspired us to get back out there but on our own terms. Sally was our second realtor due to a difficult process with a different realtor in another company. She was a breath of fresh air. My husband and I were relieved once we started working with Sally. She made the process as comfortable as home-buying could possibly be!


—Shawna
  /  November 2016

Sally's the best! No question, if anyone I know needs an agent, I would insist they use Sally.


—Don Matson, Fair Oaks, California
  /  October 2016

My advice to anyone retaining Sally Dunbar, please listen to her and follow her recommendations and it will be smooth sailing. I put a lot of trust in Sally and it paid off.


—Kevin Horan, Las Vegas, NV
  /  September 2016

Sally Dunbar was recommended by both my parents and brother for the house buying process. I called Sally on a Friday afternoon and my husband and I were looking at houses Sunday. We found our dream home right away and Sally helped us get it as quickly as possible. The whole process was easy thanks to Sally!


—Jenna
  /  September 2016

I was interested in moving my family to Fair Oaks and while doing some Google searching, stumbled across Sally Dunbar's website. I had an immediate sense that she was going to be the right realtor for us given her immense knowledge of the area. Not only was she knowledgable, but her professionalism was top notch. We were really happy to have found her, and she was wonderful in assisting us through the process of buying a home. She worked well with my crazy schedule and was always immediately available to answer questions. Highly recommended.


—Nicki Braxley, Fair Oaks
  /  July 2016

As a single mother Sally really understood my financial and personnel needs for my family home. She was so organized and efficient with showing me homes I was interested in, then discussing the pros and cons. This led to me buying a home I need and love for myself and my family.


—Jennifer, Citrus Heights
  /  July 2016

Sally is wonderful. The process was quite wonky through no fault of Sally and she really came through when I needed her help and understanding. She is extremely knowledgeable about Sacramento and surrounding areas which was a huge help to me coming from Southern California. I highly recommend her to anyone for the buying process.


—Kier harris
  /  June 2016

We had not met Sally Dunbar before she came to our home for our discussion on listing our property. She gave us her background information, qualications and list of references. Sally was easy to talk to and was a good listener as well. Both my husband and I would highly recommend Sally Dunbar and Lyon Realty. Respectfully, Jerry and Phyllis, Fair Oaks


—Jerry and Phyllis, Fair Oaks
  /  June 2016

My husband and I are expecting identical twin girls later this fall, so it was very important for us the find the perfect starter home for our growing family in somewhat of a short time frame, to get settled before the babies arrive. During what we heard can be a very stressful time with buying a home (plus babies on the way), we never felt stressed throughout the entire home buying process with Sally as our realtor and advocate. We knew we were in trusted, experienced hands with Sally on our side. Sally kept us in the loop during the negotiating, inspections, and underwriting processes with our loan officer, and also made extra efforts to be present when we met with the title company to sign and explain the mountain of paperwork to us. We wanted to be close to downtown Sacramento where both of our jobs are located, and Sally was great about meeting us across town to show us homes on short notice, with research done about neighborhoods, flood insurance info, you name it! Once we found our perfect home, she really went to bat for us negotiating, and we got the first house we made on offer on! Woohoo!! Thanks to Sally, we have an adorable home we get to raise our family in - and we are so grateful! Thank you Sally, we love you & our new home! Sean, Kim, Ava & the "Green beans"


—Sean & Kimberly Green (West Sacramento)
  /  June 2016

Sally's work was absolutely amazing. We're first-time home buyers and I'm shocked and amazed at how smoothly the entire process went. She was on top of things every step of the way, and kept us in the loop on what to expect and did not hesitate to advise on how to proceed.


—Aaron Stewart, Fair Oaks, CA
  /  March 2016

We had met Sally when the home next to ours was listed. Later, we chose Sally to list our home. So, it was a natural progression to choose Sally as our "buyers" agent, since we had such a positive experience with her previously. Sally was always conveyed the epitome of professionalism. She was extremely patient with us as we waded through the sea of homes available, and through the turmoils associated with seeking a new home. There were no negatives associated with our experience. In all aspects, Sally's expertise and knowledge base, proved to be of such value that we cannot imagine the end result being any better if we had used anyone else. She was always available, and provided fantastic observations which helped immensely in our final purchase choice.


—Thomas Sykes, Folsom, Ca
  /  February 2016

My wife and I worked with Sally Dunbar while we searched for our first home in the Fall of 2015. Sally had worked with friends and family before but we also appreciated her experience in the business and her familiarity with both Fair Oaks and Gold River, the two areas we had chosen to focus our search on. Sally was so wonderful to work with and eventually found us a perfect home in Gold River that we are thrilled to now be in. Throughout the entire process she was patient, knowledgeable, and most importantly a source of information and advocacy on our behalf. We both feel like she made our first experience with home-buying enjoyable and as stress-free as anyone could ever hope for. We enthusiastically recommend her to anyone looking to buy or sell a home!


—Kellen and Amber Arno, Gold River, CA
  /  December 2015

Additional Testimonials

I have been involved in many Real Estate Transactions and Sally Dunbar in the BEST. Combine this with all my other comments and you'll know why.


—Jane Nelsen, Sacramento
  /  October 2017

Sally Dunbar is extremely knowledgeable and has an excellent grasp of the use of statistics for demonstrating local market conditions. She is a pleasure to work with and guided us expertly through the process from start to finish. We would highly recommend Sally to anyone looking to buy or sell a home. Thank you, Sally!


—Marilyn Schiveley & Andrew Bucchiere, Folsom CA
  /  October 2017

Sally Dunbar has helped many of my family members and friends with their real estate needs so there was no other choice in my mind when I needed a realtor! She went above and beyond make sure everything went smoothly and advocated for me in all negotiations with professionalism and superior knowledge. Sally is Excellent every facet of her job and made the whole process feel smooth while also being honest and upfront about possible risks. While Sally was on vacation I was able to contact her associate and ask questions and confirm details of my transaction. I am thrilled with the sale of my old home and the purchase of my new home! Thank you Sally!


—Katrina Hiott, Fair Oaks, CA
  /  August 2017

I know we selected the right realtor when we contracted with Sally Dunbar. Sally looked over the property and then we had a conference call discussing the path forward in placing the house on the market, as we wanted to sell it “As Is”. Sally agreed to our request. She placed it on the market June 16th, and we received an offer the same day. We accepted it, as the price and the timing met our criteria. Sally was not only professional and informative, but friendly and thoughtful throughout the whole process. We are very satisfied with our dealings with Sally, and would not hesitate to work with her in the future. Bill & Herb


—Herb , San Bruno, Ca. & Bill, Hot Springs Village, Ar.
  /  July 2017

This was the third property Sally has helped us with. We just keeping coming back to Sally because she is great! Very experienced and knowledgeable. She gives good advice, and tells you what you need to know. We would definitely recommend Sally Dunbar.


—Matt & Laura in Fair Oaks
  /  July 2017

Sally was a joy to work with and took care of things when the sale got complicated. Can't recommend her highly enough!


—Marty Greenstein, Sacramento
  /  July 2017

Over 11-12 years ago my husband and I decided to move to the Fair Oaks area from Cameron Park. A friend recommended his neighbor and friend, Sally Dunbar, as a realtor that knew Fair Oaks very well. We looked her up she was a perfect match for us. She became our Realtor-for-Life! The location of your office is very convenient. My husband always did our shopping at Raley's and would see Sally Dunbar shopping after her work day. Sally would chat and keep in touch with our lives and family. We could see how invested she is in her community to see her shopping locally. After all the years I have known her, Sally Dunbar is still enthusiastic about selling homes. She is friendly, trustworthy, knowledgeable and just plain understanding. Lyons is lucky to have her as one of their most likeable and experienced agents.


—Marilee Flannery - Orangevale
  /  June 2017

Any first time home buyers out there? Give Sally Dunbar a call! When our family was planning to move from Southern California to Sacramento, we had very little knowledge of the real estate market or the home buying process. Sally Dunbar came HIGHLY recommended by a friend, and we are so glad we got to work with her! Her knowledge of the local market, patience, professionalism, and attention to detail stood out to us. Not only did she guide us through every step of the home buying process, but she was there for every home inspection, pest-inspection, sewer scope...you name it! She is truly a leader among her peers and her qualities are what all realtors strive for.


—Nathan and Jessica from Fair Oaks, CA
  /  June 2017

Sally was fantastic through out the entire home buying process. She helped me find the perfect house and get it for under market value in what is a very competitive buyers market.


—Suzanne Fagundes Citrus Heights
  /  June 2017

Sally made the home buying experience for two first time home buyers completely stress free and enjoyable. She was very patient with us throughout the entire process especially when we were asking her a lot of very naive questions. Once she realized that we really were completely unsure about how this entire process worked I could tell she felt the need to personally advocate for us and take us under her wing. She handled all of our price negotiations, repair negotiations, and the scheduling of our appraisals and inspections on our behalf. Throughout each process she explained to us beforehand what we could expect and then walked us through everything as it was happening. We never had to wonder what was coming next. I will only use Sally moving forward because she truly had our best interests at heart and treated us like we were her only clients when that clearly was not the case. She is simply the best!


—Shayna Lopez, Sacramento
  /  June 2017

Here is an email I sent to Sally after we closed escrow: "Thank you for being a walking testament on how to do realty right. I don't think we would have seriously considered this direction if you were not involved. In fact, there wasn't even a question about how to proceed... just that we needed to get you involved from the beginning. Escrows, like a few other things in life, tend to show a person's true colors, and, having been down this road together a few times, there was a trust factor on both sides that was very reassuring."


—Gary, Dillon Beach, CA
  /  May 2017

My husband and I are first time home buyers so naturally we were a bit apprehensive with the whole process. We were put in contact with Sally Dunbar through our loan officer Jody Reese of Vitek. After explaining our home needs, Sally signed us up on Lyons' "daily alert" where we received a daily email about new homes that were for sale in our price range and area. Sally is very professional, knowledgeable, and most of all, very patient! She answered all of our questions quickly; she even took our phone calls after working hours. We highly recommend Sally Reese! Thanks for all you've done for us!


—The Titchenals, Fair Oaks
  /  March 2017

Sally came highly recommended by my brother and sister-in-law. They used her previously to buy a house and we're very happy with her. Sally helped my brothers and I sell a house. She was very helpful and was very available to answer questions or give advice. She knows her stuff and if there was anything she didn't know or was unsure of, she found out for sure. I found her to be very honest. She didn't guarantee anything that couldn't be guaranteed, she didn't make any false promises or anything of that nature. Everything went very smoothly. In fact it was a very fast sale and Sally was on the ball with everything. She made our interests her interests. Her care for us came through in her actions. She wasn't just trying to sell a house. She was trying to help us sell a house with the best outcome for everyone involved, particularly us. Incredibly important to me. It was a very positive experience overall. I'm very happy with Sally as a realtor!


—Yuri Launitz, Sacramento
  /  February 2017

There were many problems with the house following years of deferred maintenance. Sally Dunbar was instrumental in finding/recommending just the exact person we needed to fix the problems. Very pro-active and she found contractors who charged a decent price and did fantastic work. Every step of the way, when there was a problem, Sally had the solution! She was fabulous.


—Gloria Gearou
  /  December 2016

Sally Dunbar made it easy and comfortable. She said it? I did it. Easy! You can't argue with expertise. House sold in 4 days.


—Debbie Kennedy - Gold River
  /  November 2016

Sally was a delight! Sally's experience was a large part about what drew us to her (besides the rave reviews from friends and family of course.) She knew many of the realtors who were selling the houses we looked at. Her knowledge of the Escrow process and the best way to look at home buying were incredibly helpful after our previously arduous experience of putting in multiple offers and coming up short. She inspired us to get back out there but on our own terms. Sally was our second realtor due to a difficult process with a different realtor in another company. She was a breath of fresh air. My husband and I were relieved once we started working with Sally. She made the process as comfortable as home-buying could possibly be!


—Shawna
  /  November 2016

Sally's the best! No question, if anyone I know needs an agent, I would insist they use Sally.


—Don Matson, Fair Oaks, California
  /  October 2016

My advice to anyone retaining Sally Dunbar, please listen to her and follow her recommendations and it will be smooth sailing. I put a lot of trust in Sally and it paid off.


—Kevin Horan, Las Vegas, NV
  /  September 2016

Sally Dunbar was recommended by both my parents and brother for the house buying process. I called Sally on a Friday afternoon and my husband and I were looking at houses Sunday. We found our dream home right away and Sally helped us get it as quickly as possible. The whole process was easy thanks to Sally!


—Jenna
  /  September 2016

I was interested in moving my family to Fair Oaks and while doing some Google searching, stumbled across Sally Dunbar's website. I had an immediate sense that she was going to be the right realtor for us given her immense knowledge of the area. Not only was she knowledgable, but her professionalism was top notch. We were really happy to have found her, and she was wonderful in assisting us through the process of buying a home. She worked well with my crazy schedule and was always immediately available to answer questions. Highly recommended.


—Nicki Braxley, Fair Oaks
  /  July 2016

As a single mother Sally really understood my financial and personnel needs for my family home. She was so organized and efficient with showing me homes I was interested in, then discussing the pros and cons. This led to me buying a home I need and love for myself and my family.


—Jennifer, Citrus Heights
  /  July 2016

Sally is wonderful. The process was quite wonky through no fault of Sally and she really came through when I needed her help and understanding. She is extremely knowledgeable about Sacramento and surrounding areas which was a huge help to me coming from Southern California. I highly recommend her to anyone for the buying process.


—Kier harris
  /  June 2016

We had not met Sally Dunbar before she came to our home for our discussion on listing our property. She gave us her background information, qualications and list of references. Sally was easy to talk to and was a good listener as well. Both my husband and I would highly recommend Sally Dunbar and Lyon Realty. Respectfully, Jerry and Phyllis, Fair Oaks


—Jerry and Phyllis, Fair Oaks
  /  June 2016

My husband and I are expecting identical twin girls later this fall, so it was very important for us the find the perfect starter home for our growing family in somewhat of a short time frame, to get settled before the babies arrive. During what we heard can be a very stressful time with buying a home (plus babies on the way), we never felt stressed throughout the entire home buying process with Sally as our realtor and advocate. We knew we were in trusted, experienced hands with Sally on our side. Sally kept us in the loop during the negotiating, inspections, and underwriting processes with our loan officer, and also made extra efforts to be present when we met with the title company to sign and explain the mountain of paperwork to us. We wanted to be close to downtown Sacramento where both of our jobs are located, and Sally was great about meeting us across town to show us homes on short notice, with research done about neighborhoods, flood insurance info, you name it! Once we found our perfect home, she really went to bat for us negotiating, and we got the first house we made on offer on! Woohoo!! Thanks to Sally, we have an adorable home we get to raise our family in - and we are so grateful! Thank you Sally, we love you & our new home! Sean, Kim, Ava & the "Green beans"


—Sean & Kimberly Green (West Sacramento)
  /  June 2016

As a trustee of an estate in Fair Oaks and living out of state I was so impressed with the professional support I received from Sally. It certainly made my job easier. I was constantly informed of the progress of the sale right down to us meeting and closing the escrow. I would highly recommend Sally as her expertise in the real estate market is tops!!


—Gail Philipps
  /  May 2016

Sally's work was absolutely amazing. We're first-time home buyers and I'm shocked and amazed at how smoothly the entire process went. She was on top of things every step of the way, and kept us in the loop on what to expect and did not hesitate to advise on how to proceed.


—Aaron Stewart, Fair Oaks, CA
  /  March 2016

We had met Sally when the home next to ours was listed. Later, we chose Sally to list our home. So, it was a natural progression to choose Sally as our "buyers" agent, since we had such a positive experience with her previously. Sally was always conveyed the epitome of professionalism. She was extremely patient with us as we waded through the sea of homes available, and through the turmoils associated with seeking a new home. There were no negatives associated with our experience. In all aspects, Sally's expertise and knowledge base, proved to be of such value that we cannot imagine the end result being any better if we had used anyone else. She was always available, and provided fantastic observations which helped immensely in our final purchase choice.


—Thomas Sykes, Folsom, Ca
  /  February 2016

My wife and I worked with Sally Dunbar while we searched for our first home in the Fall of 2015. Sally had worked with friends and family before but we also appreciated her experience in the business and her familiarity with both Fair Oaks and Gold River, the two areas we had chosen to focus our search on. Sally was so wonderful to work with and eventually found us a perfect home in Gold River that we are thrilled to now be in. Throughout the entire process she was patient, knowledgeable, and most importantly a source of information and advocacy on our behalf. We both feel like she made our first experience with home-buying enjoyable and as stress-free as anyone could ever hope for. We enthusiastically recommend her to anyone looking to buy or sell a home!


—Kellen and Amber Arno, Gold River, CA
  /  December 2015

"Hire Sally Dunbar if you want an expert, a highly skilled professional with 35 years savvy experience and who is ballsy enough to be frank & candid with you. Gently spoken, she will map an intelligent strategy to hit your goal. This woman knows her stuff, has very high ethics, and if you're smart, you'll learn a lot about how to buy or sell your special home. But don't bother with an expert if you are not ready to: listen hard, take notes, and carefully consider her advice. She will guide & support you, and will protect you from the hazards, with conscientous caring & devoted diligence - whether you're a buyer or a seller. Be prepared to do your part! I researched long and hard to find Sally - you should be so lucky. (2 days to contract in a slow market to find perfect buyers = incredible!! Way to go, Sally, you Rock!)"


—Laura C., Litigation Attorney
  /  September 2014

From an agent I just closed escrow with: "Sally - I always research the agents on the other side of a new transaction. You have a wonderful reputation in our Auburn office - quick to respond, honest, knowledgeable, straight shooter, etc. I have to tell you that you far exceeded the glowing reports I had heard."


—Dana A - Realtor
  /  August 2014

"Sally is an amazing Realtor. she is very knowledgeable in her field of real estate. Sally is honest, dependable and very thorough in her dealings. We have known Sally for many years and have done several real estate transactions with her. She earned our love and respect long ago. It is our opinion she is the best Realtor one could ask for."


—Steve & Patricia S.
  /  July 2014

From a buyer's agent on my closed listing: "Sally, I wanted to take a moment and thank you for a great transaction. It's so rare these days that I encounter a wonderful professional like yourself and that the transaction goes so smoothly. I was a positive experience for both my buyer and myself. I hope to work with your again."


—Julie B, Realtor
  /  June 2014

My mother and I had such a positive experience with Sally. She came to our first appointment with a lot of information and was completely prepared. Once we were ready to list we knew we were in good hands. Everything went smoothly due to her expertise.


—Sara C.
  /  May 2014

"I told my friend who chose to work with you, Sally, that you are the best agent ever and that whatever comes from your mouth is like that being foretold by an angel… okay, maybe not that extreme, but definitely that she is getting one of the most skilled, experienced, and wonderful Realtors in this town. I truly do mean it."


—David G. Realtor
  /  March 2014

“We will, as we always do, tell anyone and everyone about you! And of course any move or change we make MUST have a “Sally Dunbar” mark.”


—Gail A.
  /  March 2014

Sally was incredible! She was so very knowledgeable in EVERY aspect of real estate. She was extremely supportive and helped me every step of the way. I will absolutely recommend Sally to everyone.


—Nicole S.
  /  February 2014

"I HAD to write and tell you how impressed I was with your verbiage on the pictures of a home I used as a comp on an appraisal! Good job! You made me want to live there with all your visual descriptions. No wonder you are so successful."


—Vickie K, Appraiser
  /  February 2014

"We hired you because you recognized our carpet stunk and needed to be replaced. You also recognized our home was worth more than other realtors we interviewed, and sold it in 2 weeks in December. Rock on!"


—Dick and Nancy H.
  /  January 2014

We want to thank you for how you handled the recent sale of our house. You made a daunting process easier with your friendly, professional approach to the project. You gave us the kind of advice we needed, and even though we had known each other for 25 years, you didn't hesitate to take a very professional approach to our house prep and sale. You had our best interests in mind the whole time, kept us well-informed and put us at ease every step of the way. We feel the advise you gave us greatly contributed to our house selling on the first day. You were a great cheerleader for us!


—Bernadette & John C.
  /  September 2013

"Sally Dunbar is by far the most knowledgeable and experienced agent I know in the Northern California market. She has fantastic follow through and treats all of her clients as if they were family. She will always be honest with you and tells it like it is. Great to have someone like her available to help with buying or selling a home in this challenging market."


—Bryan H, Lender
  /  September 2013

"As a real estate broker myself, I know many real estate agents in the Sacramento area, but when it came to choosing an agent to list and market my elderly parent's home in Del Dayo Estates, I knew I wanted Sally to be the one. She is enthusiastic and diligent with her listings and her follow-up in the whole process was fabulous. She was wonderful and patient with my dad and kept all of the family members informed each step of the way. I can't say enough about Sally Dunbar."


—Patti C.
  /  August 2013

"Sally is amazing. Her skills negotiating and dealing with people got us this house, no question. Two years of searching and we finally got our dream home. We love Sally!"


—Leilani & Dan D.
  /  July 2013

"As Sally's daughter I've always known what a great mom she is, but not until I became her client did I realize what a great agent she is. Her ability to communicate and work with others made our home finding and escrow process go so smoothly. She told us what to expect and anticipated every step so there wasn't a single bump in our road. We love the house she found us and don't plan to ever move, but if we do, I know we will be in good hands."


—Roxy J.
  /  April 2013

"You didn't just take a look at my house amd say 'It's worth this much, let's list it". It was more like HGTV's Designed to Sell. You gave me many tips on what to do to make it look better. You were in it for me. When I felt a sense of urgency to make a decision, you calmed me down and let me know that no decision was a good decision, too. You are interested in what is best for your client rather than what's best for you. In a nutshell, I like working with you because you are ethical!"


—Marsha R.
  /  March 2013

I was truly blessed to have the best agent in the USA in Sally!! Words cannot begin to describe all that she did for me. Two of her many special attributes are her sensitivity to her clients and her understanding of people. She begins the process very well -prepared and she is extremely knowledgable about real estate and homes. She is very professional and very calming, with the latter being so helpful in handling all the stress around sell, buying and moving. Sally did an amazing video of my home. My niece who has a photography background said it was extremely well done. The pictures that the professional photographer did under Sally's eagle eyes were a great quality. I looked at many pictures of homes online as I was searching for my home here in MD, and I know mine were among the best. Sally went way beyond what most agents would do, helping me get the best moving company and agent in Maryland, and helping me with many other resources that I needed. I have bought and sold homes in the past and those experiences couldn't begin to compare to what I experienced with Sally. Please share this letter with Lyon Real Estate upper management as I want them to know what a treasure they have in Sally Dunbar.


—Dr. Cathy C.
  /  February 2013

"Sally is a professional and an expert- in this market you need both. She was willing to work as hard at finding us a home as we were; we spent days driving around from house to house (sometimes seeing as many as 10 houses in a day). She went far above and beyond what we expected, and truly made the experience unique for our situation and circumstances. But what makes Sally a unique realtor in the industry is her experience; she knows everyone in town. That experience is exceptionally helpful when trying to figure out the status of a piece of property or networking with the individuals necessary to get the deal completed. She knows what will work, what won't, and what to put time into. It's more than knowledge; it's wisdom. The only reason we own the home we do at the price we got is because of Sally's hard work. So long as we live in the area, Sally will be our go-to gal for all our real estate needs."


—Jason & Andrea S.
  /  December 2012

"The Sacramento real estate marked had been terrible for over three years. Sally interpreted the earliest signs of an unforeseen shortage in homes for sale that caused recent comp data to be considerable lower than what price she said we should settle for in a sudden window of opportunity. She was accurate in her assessments, totally correct in using a short-term sales strategy, very open with the listing regarding the property and absolutely professional in her over all business skills. Each phase of the process tracked with her explanations. She invested where most effective - top quality photo and web presentations, and did not waste effort in fluff or over stating estimates. "


—Paul & Allison B.
  /  December 2012

"I knew when we first met in March, that you would be a great teammate for us to begin writing this next chapter of our adventure back home to Fair Oaks. In fact, you play a key character in the story that literally alters our future. Finding our home, the way you did, is truly a story to be told for the ages. And so it will be told. And you have assured yourself entry into the Crowley Hall of Fame. I'm guessing, given your diligence, determination, creativity and perserverence, that you will also be inducted into the Realtor's Hall of Fame also one day. From both of us, thank you for making such a huge positive impact on our lives by finding us that perfect home. I want you to know you are truly gifted and exceptional at what you do and it really does change and impact people's lives. What a wonderful vocation you have chosen. Your actions reflect sunshine upon all realtors and what they are inspired to do - make an impact in the lives of others. Well done. "


—Bob & Marcy C.
  /  August 2012

"Sally Dunbar exceeded our expectations for a Realtor. She was very available and gave us just the right amount of guidance."


—Joe & Sara S.
  /  August 2012

To the friend who referred Leslie to Sally:"Thank you for the excellent referral to Sally Dunbar. She was the perfect blend of professionalism and compassion. She made the home buying process enjoyable. Thanks for sending the perfect person for the job."


—Leslie C.
  /  December 2011

"Sally taught me everything I know about buying a home. I was a first time home buyer and knew nothing about what to look for in a home. Now my husband and I are in a good neighbor hood. I am greatful for all the knowledge Sally shared with me during our time together and am looking forward to working with her in the future."


—Lou M.
  /  September 2011

I still cannot believe my good fortune in finding Sally. She is that perfect combination of optimism, knowledge, and professionalism and made every step of our home purchase easier and more enjoyable as a result. This is our 10th move in 34 years - from Laguna Beach, to Greenwich CT, to Traverse City MI, to Cleveland OH, to Sausalito CA. Sally is bar none the best Realtor we have worked with and we find her a rare talent in the field.


—Mark & Debby L.
  /  May 2010

“After 274 days on the market with another reputable agency we called Sally. She presented her marketing plan, and walked through our home and made several suggestions, which we implemented immediately. With her changes, our home just shined! She had an offer for us in 11 short days. Even better, we closed in 15 days. Sally’s professionalism, candor, and expertise were the best gifts we gave ourselves for the holidays!!!! We will always recommend Sally to our friends and family.”


—Curtis & Rosemary A.
  /  April 2010

Sally's professionalism and commitment focused on taking care of my needs from beginning to end - including the two of us rearranging furniture to maximize appeal. Sally's willingness to listen to my input and ideas and combine those with her own expert experience and knowledge led us to two successful transactions - and a treasured long term friendship. She's a fascinating real lady who gives to her family, the community and her clients consistently.


—Billie B.

It's not just a house.  It's your home.  Let's Get It Right!!!

Whoooeeeeee!  It's been a long time.  38 years as a broker, and I've loved it... well most of it.  There have been a few yahoos along the way, but mostly great people, many who have become my good friends whom I have sold homes to multiple times.  I'm happy to help you find homes in my beautiful town of Fair Oaks, (on the bluffs of the American River, upstream of Sacramento, with the cutest old town known for its wandering chickens.), but venture into Orangevale (an eclectic mix of horse property dotted with infill tuscan-style estates), Citrus Heights (good values), Carmichael (a mix of gorgeous estates and affordable homes), Gold River (beautiful planned development on the banks of the American River with miles of bike trails), Folsom (there's more than the prison where Johnny Cash sang - a quaint old town with Victorian homes and access to sublime boating, biking, bar-b-ques, beaching, and barrel racing at the rodeo), El Dorado Hills (gorgeous, views, with beautiful homes), Granite Bay ( famous for its schools, rural properties and estate developments, like Los Lagos), Roseville (has everything, plus a super business center), Rocklin (rural bucolic life plus gazillions of newer lovely subdivisions) and Sacramento itself (where I grew up, at the convergence of two rivers.)

I hope you tried the links above.  They will take you to the newest homes listings in each community.  Pretty slick, huh?  Check back frequently, and it will update you with any new homes for sale! (Yes, I aim to please!)

Wanna know more about some of my favorite Fair Oaks neighborhoods?    Try this overview video of Fair Oaks Neighborhoods, starring yours truly, watch this.  Here is one more video that is a bit shaky, but very cool, telling you about living in Fair Oaks.

Want more visuals? You are in luck, because I have set up Pinterest boards of my best photos and descriptions from our surrounding neighborhoods of: Fair Oaks, Rollingwood, Orangevale, CarmichaelFolsom, Sierra Oaks, Woodbridge Ranch, and Sacramento. Feeling frisky, I even made a board of homes I have sold! Pinterest is kind of fun. (You will also find cool camping ideas, landscape water features, yard art,  and deck designs, but I digress.  You are here for real estate.  I remember.)

Yesterday my client suggested I was a real estate encyclopedia, which may have been an accusation that I'm square and use way too many words, or a compliment that I really do know my stuff.  I guess sometimes its both.


CREDENTIALS
  • Real Estate Broker since 1979
  • Certified Relocation Specialist
  • Trained in Advanced Master Negotiating Techniques
  • Instructor of Negotiating for Lyon Real Estate
  • B.A. Degree, UC Santa Barbara  
 
AWARDS AND HONORS
  • Top 2% Producer, Lyon Real Estate , Dozens of millions of dollars sold! 
  • #19 out of 1000 agents for Lyon, 2013 (yes, that was exhausting)
  • #15 out of 900 agents for Lyon, 2007 (whew)
  • Nominated one of "10 Best" Real Estate Agents in CA for client satisfaction (AIREP)
  • Distinguished Realtor Designation - Expert Network (top 3% nationwide)
  • Director - Sacramento Association of Realtors - 2007, 2008 
  • Charperson of Grievance Committee, Sacramento Association of Realtors (2017), Member since 2013 ( assessing ethics complaints against Realtors)
  • Outstanding Life Member, Masters Club, Sacramento Association of Realtors  - Top 4 % of realtors 
  • Steering Committee - 8 years - Master's Club
  • Moderator, Marketing Masters - Sacramento's longest running marketing group, meeting weekly since 1991. We tour each other's listings and push cross-company collaboration. 
  • 2017 recipient of Lyon Real Estate's first ever Leadership in Philanthropy award.
Additionally, in 2006 I was chosen out of 900 agents to receive the C. Mike Messina Memorial Award for excellence and professionalism. I am really proud of this award!

PERSONAL STUFF
 

I have been married to David Dunbar for nearly 30 years, and he's still my sweetie... love that guy to death.  He's a contractor who only does things one way - the right way.  We have a ton of fun together.

We have 2 daughters, and we should have had more, but who knew they would be so entertaining and fabulous?  Roxy is a Financial Analyst and UC Davis graduate. She saves me every time I'm half-way through a spreadsheet and realize I am not a financial analyst. Thank goodness those things email well. She's a great dancer, and we both have an obsession for cowboy boots.  Christy graduated from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, is a high school teacher in New York, and is another great dancer.  She's our comedian, and has brought the joy of newfangled music to my life. Thanks to her, my favorite group is Incubus, and the song Everlong can bring me to tears!  I have lived in Fair Oaks since 1979, having returned to Sacramento from Santa Barbara, where I had lived since high school (don't ask who would leave Santa Barbara for Sacramento... it was for love, and it was the best choice I ever could have made!).  Our family loves this area, and is involved in bike riding (ask about our world-class bike trail), sailing (on Folsom Lake), hiking our fabulous trails (you feel like Lewis and Clark), fundraising for Susan G. Komen (I'm walking in my 6th 60 mile event - my second was with my 90 year old mom), snow boarding (I found a two carat diamond ring in the snow once), water polo, swim, and occasional jaunts to Sand Mountain and Florence Oregon where we go duning with our extended family (ask about our dutch oven pies).  I'm also a pretty avid reader, and am in a book group.

Speaking of the Komen 3-Day, I have formed the 2nd largest team in the US walking and fundraising for the Komen 3-Day event.  We walk 20 miles a day 3 days in a row and must each raise $2300.  Over the past two years, my team, Hands Up For Hooters, has raised over $377,000 for breast cancer research, support and education.  Yes, I have room for you on my team, and HandsUpForHooters.com. Or feel free to donate!

I'LL ALWAYS DO WHAT'S RIGHT FOR MY CLIENTS.

A few years ago, Gloria called me to list her home on the bluffs of the American River. I was excited! She then confided she was recently widowed, and needed a change. She was sad. I told her she had the best investment she could possibly find - a rare home with a smashing river view. I suggested she strip wallpaper, repaint, install new carpet, replace her windows (to improve her view!), and paint-out her dark-beamed ceilings. And to then see if she needed a change. So she did. And today, 8 years later, Gloria is still enjoying the view from her lovely new windows. And her home has tripled in value! While I talked myself out of a sale, it was the right thing for Gloria!

I do the right thing for my clients because it's the best way to lead your life. If you want to buy or sell, call me. We'll figure out the best way to proceed, then we'll make it happen. You have my word! And if that means encouraging them to do nothing. then I've done my job well.

IF YOU HAVE READ THIS FAR....

Why are you still reading? If it's to know more about me, I won't disappoint.  Here are links to my very favorite blog posts of all time, and the ones that reveal who I really am. Strap on your seat belts - you are in for a wild ride.... (don't forget to hit the back button to return)

Who is This "SALLY DUNBAR", Anyway???

 

*A Love Letter For My Husband

 

*My Best Friend. My Worst Enemy. My Brother

 

* Teach Your Children and They Will Listen

 

*How I Learned to "Leap And the Net Will Appear"

 

*How a Pile of Puckey Taught Me To Be an Optimist

 

*How I Learned to Work Hard and Play Hard

 

*How I Learned to Really LIKE My Mom

 

*The Summer of '69 and Woodstock

 

*My Favorite Vacations ... Sandrailing in the Dunes

 

*My Favorite Vacations ... Patagonia

 

*My Favorite Vacations.... Alaska

 

*My Top 17 Books of All time

 

*A Mother's Day Tribute to Aunt Margaret

 

*Hillbilly Olympics.. How to Put the FUN in Fundraising

 

*How I Learned... You Can Live With Breast Cancer

 

*My Migraines Are Gone Forever With Some Hokus Pokus

 

*On Being a Working Parent

 

* 60 Hikes by Age 60 - We're up to #23!

 

*Yep - I am inspired by my 90 year old Mom.